They Lied!

April 3, 2010

Day 6 of Unemployment

I went to an engagement party tonight for some friends from home. Half of my hometown seemed to be at this event. They say “The more things change, the more things stay the same” but I’m going to beg to differ. I think “They”  lied!

Everyone is older, some thinner, some hotter, some nicer, some (somehow) dumber, some broken up, some together, some back together…again- Things have changed! Everyone seems to get along better and seem to be over the petty things that divided everyone back in the day. What a breath of fresh air!

It’s encouraging really. I’m facing the reality that I may soon be moving home – seeing as I’m unemployed with no actual future plan as of yet. The social scene was what I was dreading the most. Turns out, lots of people still live here, contrary to popular belief. I can have fun here… who knew? It will be different but I might just enjoy it.

If nothing else it will be fun catching up with everyone. I found myself asking a million questions tonight – “Who is that?” “Who is she dating?” “Are they still on bad terms?” “What are you doing these days?” There is so much that I have missed while I’ve been off in my own little world…

Leave a comment